Teachings on the Six Bardos


Khentrul Rinpoché discusses the subject of death and how to use the various periods of our experience to practice the Dharma.


We rarely talk about the process of dying. Death is a taboo subject that is seen as morbid or wasting time. We say ‘What will be, will be’ and go about our lives as if death were a distant reality. When the time comes to face the loss of our own precious life, or that of someone we hold dear, we have no idea how to guide ourselves or loved ones through the rich landscape of dying.

Buddhist philosophy speaks of the Bardo Thodol which encompasses the six stages of life, death and rebirth. The Bardo Thodol teaches us how to live fully and die well, helping us to face the uncertainty of our lives with confidence and clarity.

During this retreat, Khentrul Rinpoche gave teachings on the meaning of each Bardo stage, covering:

  • Fundamental Buddhist teachings
  • Discussions on the six-fold cycle of life and rebirth
  • Special meditation practices to deepen understanding of the Bardo stages
  • The implications for a serene death and rebirth
  • How to practice during the process of dying